Skip to content

Adventures of a semi-employed youth pt 2

August 16, 2010

It seems like a simple act of politeness to tell an applicant that you’re not interested in hiring them.  It doesn’t even need to be much.  Just an email apologizing that they weren’t what you were looking for, and then you can both move on with your lives.  You don’t need to fake sincerity because the applicant wouldn’t appreciate that.  You can even be blunt if you really feel like it.  Any kind of response, though, is better than no response.  A response at least acknowledges that the person tried to apply.  No response means no care at all.  But what if the applicant had no care in his application, you might ask?  Then do you still need to respond?  The answer, of course, is yes.  Show that you, the employer, are a better type of person than your careless applicant – do them the courtesy that they refused to do you, and let them know that you don’t want to hire them.

I’ve been looking at jobs in radio reporting because I’ve been listening to NPR on my drives to students’ houses.  The only jobs I’m qualified for are internships, but I can’t do those because I’m not a student anymore.  Maybe I’ll put down that I’m getting academic credit for the School of Hard Knocks.  It’d be nice if there were apprenticeships for recent college graduates.  The overwhelming experience of the graduates I know is that their degrees don’t give them anything in the battle to find a job except frustration at needing to settle for a job for which they’re over-qualified.  Those who do have jobs were probably pointed towards a their career in college.  They’ll do well enough for themselves but that’s all they’ll ever do – their futures are set.  Those of us who didn’t get degrees with careers in mind can teach and go on to graduate school.  That’s about it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 12:18 am

    Nuh uh, nuh uh! We can also start exciting, unplanned careers like I did with Toys R Us. Now my future is set too, and whew, let me tell you… the future has never bummed me out more.

Dear Sir...

