Skip to content

Avatar: Special Edition

August 21, 2010

August 27th, coming to every goddamn theater near you.  Because they didn’t make enough money the first time, this cashcow is back with 9 (that’s right, 9!) minutes of extra footage, which will probably all be part of the “I’m learning to be a native” montage or the hot blue furry love scene that they faded to black the first time around.  Can’t be both, it’ll either be 9 minutes of running around with new animals or 9 minutes of blue cat-people going at it.  It makes sense that they’d re-release it though – the “experience” really wouldn’t be the same on DVD.  Not even on blu-ray.

I’m not saying I won’t go see it, but I will say that if I am going to see it, I’ll want the entire theater rented out for me and ten of my loudest movie-going friends, and I’d want one of those friends to bring enough marijuana for all of us to get very stoned.  Because honestly, is there any reason to see Avatar other than being high?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2010 4:22 pm

    They’re re-releasing it because a different movie came out a little earlier then expected and bumped them from their IMAX spot. I think it was the sixth Harry Potter, or maybe the second Transformers. So yes, it’s being re-released to make more money, but for a very specific reason- they felt robbed the first time around. Poor, short-changed collective Avatar people.

Dear Sir...

