Skip to content

Talent

November 24, 2010

I was thinking today about why it is that there were so many more talented young artists and thinkers (like Mozart and whoever else you’d care to list) in the past than there are today.  After glazing over a few half-brained hypotheses on why that might be, I realized that the real issue isn’t that there were more talented young people in the past, it’s that I’m jealous of all those talented young people.  If I were doing something with myself like them instead of whatever it is that I am doing I wouldn’t be thinking about it.

Some day motivation is going to hit me.  It’s coming in trickles.  If it doesn’t open up soon I’m just going to implode.

I’ll stop complaining then too.  I’ll stop complaining now.  This was less of a complaint and more of an interesting observation on my thought process.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. MTPrower permalink
    December 17, 2010 5:16 am

    I have often felt like this. I want to be a great media developer, in music, fiction-animation, and the art of game development, and more. But although sometimes I am a long-winded and hard worker, I am still not as motivated as I should be. Reading your article here was helpful to me.

    • MTPrower permalink
      December 17, 2010 5:19 am

      Also, don’t move to blogger. Buy the domain. It’s totally worth it. I have a VERY nice WordPress site and community, and am almost as poor as they come. Please buy a domain. It’s totally worth it, and you won’t regret it.

Dear Sir...

