Skip to content

Baby Showers

May 15, 2011

Baby showers are ridiculous and that’s not news to anyone.  I didn’t know they could have themes before, so that’s why I’m bringing them up.  It never occurred to me.  There’s no reason they couldn’t have themes, though.  Birthday parties can have themes.  My favorite theme for a birthday party is cake (my second favorite is lasers).  The thought just never crossed my mind that a baby shower would have a theme.  But I guess if it’s your third or fourth one down the line, a regular old celebration of baby won’t do it for you anymore.  You gotta spruce it up a bit.

I stumbled onto this thought while I was working on a stupid joke.  Here’s the stupid joke:

I don’t think that joke is worth a whole post.  It’s really stupid.  And if that had been the end of it, I probably wouldn’t even be posting it.  However, its creation led me down a thought-provoking path.  To make the image, I was searching for stock photos of cowboy boots and cowboy hats.  Turns out they all look the same and I didn’t want any of those pictures.  Then I had the bright idea to look for children’s cowboy outfits:

Not really what I was looking for either.  After wading through the childhood photos of hundreds of future leather enthusiasts, I decided I’d go for the photo of boots you saw above – but not before I ran into this gem:

Cowboy baby cake.  For a cowboy baby shower.  This is the most demur one I could find.

So I did what any sensible person would do and started to look up different kinds of baby showers.  Goth baby showers, steam punk baby showers, Barbie baby showers, redneck baby showers, they all exist.  If you can think of a category, there’s probably at least a baby shower invitation that fits into it, if not an entire party complete with internet photos.  Some people would make fun of these themed baby showers for existing.  And let’s be honest, they are pretty absurd.  But if the people throwing these parties are doing what they love, then it’s a good thing and we should be proud of them.  Like the people who ordered that cowboy cake.  They love cowboys, and they love their son.  You can tell they love him because his name is phonetically spelled as “Cainan” instead of the awkward but historically correct “Canaan.”  What kind of a parent would give their kid that weird-looking name?  An awful one.  The people who ordered that cake are full of love and that’s nothing to make fun of.  They’re not hurting anyone, they’re just spreading their love of cowboys and their kid.  And after all, love is what baby showers are about – celebrating new love in the world and showing your love of your child and sharing that love with your friends and family and making them give you presents because if they don’t it means they don’t love you or your child.  So lighten up on the themed baby showers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2011 1:27 am

    I like that joke!

  2. May 22, 2011 5:37 pm

    😀 this is why you need to come down to visit, so we can write jokes like this.

Dear Sir...

