Skip to content

Me?!!? *smirk*

July 16, 2011

I can’t stand it when advertising targets “me.”  That’s been the new wave for a couple of years now so I’m missing the bandwagon on complaining about it, but it isn’t going away and somehow nobody’s getting the message that addressing me directly in the second person is not a good way to sell me shit.  Don’t pretend to be familiar with me, Mr. Tech Company.  Oh, what’s that?  You don’t like the formality, I can call you Tech?  Piss off.  You and I both know you’re only interested in me for my dollars.  Let’s drop the pretension, it’s disrespectful.  My reaction is very simple to any kind of individual-empowering advertising:

“You don’t know me.

Back the fuck off.”

Anyway, it’s not like I buy shit from my friends.  Why would I buy shit from a company pretending to be my friend?

No comments yet

Dear Sir...

